Street Art

I chose Street Art as the theme of my blog.  Street Art typically only lasts a few days, which is fascinating and beautiful to me.  I have always been intrigued by this art style; it is very different from most art because it is ephemeral yet has a lasting impact.  Some call it graffiti, which oftentimes has a negative connotation associated with it.  However, most Street Art is actually quite beautiful and is meant to improve the looks of the surroundings rather than to trash and destroy them.

 

Untitled_acrylic,_oilstick_and_spray_paint_on_canvas_painting_by_--Jean-Michel_Basquiat--,_1981   Untitled_acrylic_and_mixed_media_on_canvas_by_--Jean-Michel_Basquiat--,_1984

The first artist I have decided to focus on is Jean-Michel Basquiat.  He was an American and was born in 1960.  He was known as a graffiti artist as a teenager but was eventually persuaded by gallery owners to put his works on canvas because they believed his art was beautiful.  Basquiat’s work mainly focused on African American heroes and made him an overnight sensation.  Unfortunately, Basquiat died of a drug overdose at the age of 27.  The first piece I have chosen by this artist is Untitled, which was painted in America in 1981.  This piece is very colorful and appears to be more centered on emotions than attention to detail.  The painting is not realistic, but it conveys the feelings of the subject, who seems to be frustrated and frantic because the expression on his face is tense and his hands are flailing above his head.  I enjoy this piece because it combines the graffiti look with an almost Pablo Picasso inspired feel.  The second piece I have chosen by this artist is Untitled (Skull), which was painted in America in 1984.  To me, this work looks like something I would see on the streets of Mexico during the Dia de Muertos (Day of the Dead) festivities.  The skull and vibrant colors are typical of this holiday.  I think this piece is very beautiful even though it is not realistic because, much like the first painting, it is emotion oriented and vivacious.

 

 

blair-i  snowman-i

The second artist I have picked is Julian Beever.  He is a British artist who uses street drawings to produce optical illusions.  He creates his works with chalk.  Beever’s work is transient, and it survives only in photographic records.  The first work I have selected by this artist is Politicians Meeting Their End, which was drawn outside The Bank of England in 1997.  This work is humorous because it depicts politicians falling into a hole in the ground.  It creates the illusion that the opening is really there.  I would be afraid to fall into the “hole” if I saw this in real life!  I think this work is well done and fun.  The second work I have selected by this artist is Making Mr. Snowman, which was created in the UK in 2008.  This work is fun for people of all ages.  As you can see, the little girl in the photograph is enjoying herself while pretending to put the carrot on the snowman.  This work is also very illusionistic and looks as though it is three-dimensional.  I enjoy this work because it puts me in the holiday spirit!

 

11_Reflections  b15_neptune

The third artist I have chosen is Kurt Wenner.  He is an American artist who does street paintings and chalk drawings.  His work often reflects Renaissance classicism with a modern twist.  The first work I have decided to analyze by this artist is Reflections.  Unfortunately, I was unable to find when and where this work was created.  This work is one of my all time favorites.  I love how it includes live models.  The reflections in the water look very similar to the real people.  The work is painted on a street; however, it looks like there is actually a well in the middle of the street because Wenner creates the illusion that the piece is three-dimensional.  The second work I have decided to analyze by this artist is Neptune’s Revenge.  I couldn’t find the date or location for this work either.  I enjoy this work because, like the other one, it looks three-dimensional.  It has beautiful colors and details as well.

 

Works Cited

http://basquiat.com/

http://www.julianbeever.net/

http://kurtwenner.com/

One thought on “Street Art

  1. Street art is pretty cool, I tend not to like it because there is a lot going on and I like very simple arts, but i do like the Julian Beever illusions and the reflections are pretty cool too.

Leave a comment